Copy Cat Covers?!?

Picture Okay, I’ve been reading a lot over the last few months and something has caught my eye.  Caught my attention enough to make me open this laptop to ponder it on this blog….
Copy cat covers on books.  Now, it’s not every book out there, not by a long shot, but more than once this month I’ve seen a familiar picture with a different title on it.  I have no less than 3 pairs of these on my kindle, not to mention others I’ve seen randomly throughout Amazon, Goodreads, and Smashwords.

Now, if the cover artist gave permission to others to use the image, that’s great, two thumbs up.  However, I know for sure that one of the pairs of books had a cover uniquely done for the author, with models, photography, etc.  The process was actually covered in the author’s blog a good while back.  Which is why I did a double take when I came across the same final image, with only the background and title tweaked, a few days ago.  I investigated the second cover image and it’s being claimed by an indie cover artist I won’t name.  Let’s just say I doubt the image the artist used was procured legit.  Now, that’s my opinion however, as I have not asked if it was.  What gets me is this authors….

Why would you want your cover to look like another author’s?

If you found out it was a copy or if yours was copied, how would that make you feel?  I personally feel embarrassed and it isn’t even mine in either case.

2 responses to “Copy Cat Covers?!?

  1. That’s horrible. I’ve heard of larger publishers stealing artwork from indie covers before, and it doesn’t surprise me that it goes both ways. I don’t know why you’d want the same cover as someone else. I’d be angry if someone stole mine, and mighty pissed if I found out my cover artist had “borrowed” mine from someone else!

Leave a Reply

